Beldocs Academy Call for Applications
Vesti - 06.03.2018

Beldocs Academy is a creative documentary film workshop programme destined at young film professionals and film students from European countries with low audiovisual production capacity. Beldocs Academy will take place in Belgrade (Serbia) for a period of five days during Beldocs International Documentary Film Festival (7-14 May 2018).

Candidates can apply with a creative documentary film project at different stages of production: from early project development to rough cut versions. There are no length restrictions. A selection committee will choose up to six participants. The programme of the workshop will be designed to fit the needs of each one of the selected projects.

During the five days the workshop will take place, the participants will work on their projects with a film professional that will be assigned to them as a tutor. They will also participate in master classes given by renowned filmmakers attending the festival and will be able to present their projects to documentary film industry professionals attending Beldocs Market.

Who can apply?
You can apply to Beldocs Academy if you are (a) a film student or a young film director; (b) you have a creative documentary film project of any length at any stage of development; (c) you are from a European country with low audiovisual production capacity[1]; and (d) you are fluent in English.

Submission requirements:
– Synopsis
– Treatment (up to 5 pages)
– Director’s notes
– Director’s bio filmography
– A link of a previous work by the director
– Visual references or materials (trailer, photos, mood book)
– A link with the film’s rough cut (if the project is at this stage)
– Contact details

Deadline for applications: March 25th, 2018.
All materials must be submitted in English, in PDF, to the following e-mail address:

The chosen participants will be notified by e-mail by the second week of April, latest. Beldocs Academy will cover all accommodation expenses in Belgrade for the duration of the workshop for the selected participants.

[1] The following countries are considered as countries with a low audiovisual production capacity: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Serbia, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Ukraine.